Being charged with a DUI is no laughing matter. The smartest move you could make would be to immediately call a criminal defense attorney in Rancho Cordova to assist you in your difficult situation. Your lawyer will be extremely vital in presenting your case and drastically improving your odds of a favorable outcome including lessening the penalties against you or even getting your case dismissed.
If convicted, at the very least, you will be made to pay fines and penalty assessments totaling approximately $2400 – depending on the county of conviction. There can be other monetary penalties levied as well.
Apart from the significant financial setback, you may also be facing a 48-hour jail sentence. Depending on the aggravating circumstances, if any, this can be made even worse by having your license suspended or restricted. With this restriction you will be limited to driving to and from your work only, and if required, to your treatment program as well.
Getting convicted with DUI will also send you to a three-month alcohol treatment program (possibly nine months if your BAC was 0.20% or higher), which you must complete and pay to attend. Those are just some of the penalties you can possibly face for a minimum DUI charge.
As if that’s not enough, in Sacramento an interlock breath device will be mandated to be attached to your vehicle so that your car will not start if there was any alcohol found on your breath. Once again, this cost will have to be shouldered by you.
At the end of the day, you face a multitude of fines that can add up to thousands of dollars and jail time if you get charged with a DUI. If you find yourself in this scenario get in touch with a DUI lawyer in Rancho Cordova immediately to help you mount an effective defense.
California DUI: What are the Penalties? DrivingLaws.
DUI & DWI in California. DMV.