Sexual Misconduct Allegation Attorney in Sacramento
Mike Chastaine is recognized as one of the premier Sacramento County Sex Crime Lawyers
Sex crime allegations in California demand aggressive defense and immediate legal attention from an experienced Sacramento County sex crimes attorney. Many say that being accused of sexual misconduct is worse than being accused of murder.
Certainly, the penalties can reflect that fact. If you have been accused of a sex crime, procuring skilled legal representation to preserve your
reputation and freedom is imperative. At the Chastaine Law Office founding attorney, Mike Chastaine, has over three decades experience successfully defending clients accused of sexual misconduct.
Protect your reputation and your future, contact The Chastaine Law Office at (916) 932-7150.
What Is a Sex Crime?
In California, a sex crime involving an adult is any non-consensual act relating to unwelcomed sex or sexual touching. Sex offenses can range
from suggestive behaviors or verbal abuse to physically violent attacks. Sexual misconduct involving a minor includes any sexual contact with a child.
Types of sex crimes include:
- Rape, including statutory rape
- Solicitation of prostitution
- Sexual assault or abuse
- Lewd conduct
- Internet sex crimes
- Child pornography
- Molestation or sexual conduct with a minor
- Indecent exposure or public indecency
Sex crimes are some of the most complex cases in the criminal justice system. There are special rules and specific concerns not found in other types of case. For this reason, it is important that you contact a Sacramento County sex crime attorney to help review and build your defense as soon as possible.
California Sexual Assault Penalties
Prosecutors, judges and the public take sex crimes very seriously, and a conviction could destroy your reputation and your life. Not only will
future employers and landlords be able to view this information, but it may also be seen by family, neighbors, friends, or colleagues.
The punishments for a sex crime in California can include:
- Sex offender registration
- Excessive fines and/or fees
- Loss of your right to own a firearm
- Forfeiture of assets
- Immigration consequences
Sex Offender Registration
Under California law, if you are convicted of certain sex crimes, you are required to put yourself on a public list of sex offenders that is made
available to the public. Currently, California requires that an offender be registered for life, regardless of which type of sexual offense the
individual was convicted of.
However, a new bill was signed into law in 2017 that will take effect in January 2021, which designates three tiers of registration requirements based on the severity of the crime committed. Under the new law, less severe sexual crimes in Tier 1 will only require 10 years of registration (5 for minors), Tier 2 will require 20 years (10 for minors), and only Tier 3 will require lifetime registration.
Being registered as a sex offender typically prohibits you from being able to live near a school or other place where children gather, and can negatively affect your ability to gain certain forms of employment.
This refers to any act of sexual intercourse involving fraud, force, the threat of violence, retaliation, or lack of legal consent. A victim may
not be able to consent due to lack of mental capacity, or alcohol or drug impairment.
In California, rape is a felony offense and is punishable by three, six, or eight years in prison. A convicted rapist must also register as a sex
offender with the State. A Sacramento County sex crime lawyer will work hard to explore all possible defenses to obtain the best outcome available.
This involves touching the intimate body parts of another person, without consent, for sexual arousal, gratification, or abuse – including
touching over clothing. “Intimate body parts” are defined as a person’s:
- sexual organs
- female breast
Sexual battery could be either a felony or a misdemeanor, depending on the circumstances, and may result in sex-offender status.
This involves exposing one’s own body or private parts in any public place. There is no requirement that the offended person observes the exposure
– only that the exposure occurs. Indecent exposure is usually a misdemeanor, punishable by a fine and up to one year of incarceration.
Prostitution or solicitation can include the following:
- Soliciting sexual services from a prostitute
- Engaging in prostitution (i.e., exchanging sexual intercourse or some other sexual act for money)
- Having someone else make the arrangements for a sex/money exchange
- Exchanging sexual services for goods or other services, instead of money
Lewd Conduct in Public
This involves touching one’s own private parts (or those of another person) in a public place, for the purpose of sexual gratification or
arousal. Private parts include the genitals, buttocks, and female breasts. Lewd conduct in public is charged with a misdemeanor, punishable by up
to six months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000.00.
Contact Our Sacramento County Sex Crime Lawyer Today
At The Chastaine Law Office, we understand how scary and confusing it can be to be charged with a sex crime. The stigma of the charges can be overwhelming. The decision on how to proceed is difficult and requires guidance from
a skilled and experienced attorney.
When you hire our Sacramento County sex crimes attorney, we can do everything possible to fight for reduced charges or dismissal.